Olympic & World Champions of
Murrays Bay Sailing Club





Seb Menzies & Blake McGlashan
420 Open World Champions
August 2018 - Newport, USA

Josh Armit
Laser Radial World Sailing Youth Champion
July 2018 - Newport, USA

Francesco Kayrouz and Jackson Keon
29er Open World Champions
January 2018 - Hong Kong

Scott Leith
Gold medal at Laser Radial Masters in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019
Pictured at the 2015 Laser Worlds Masters.




Courtney & Brianna Reynolds-Smith
Junior 470 World Champions
September 2017 - Japan


Josh Armit
Laser Radial Under 17 World Champion & 4th Youth World Champion
12-18 August 2017 - Medemblik, Netherlands

Elise Beavis, Ray Davies, Murray Jones, Andy Maloney, Josh McCormack, Geoff Senior
The all conquering Emirates Team New Zealand took the Americas Cup from Oracle USA. These ETNZ team members had their roots at MBSC.
June 2017 - Bermuda


Alex Maloney (MBSC) with Molly Meech (TYPBC)
49erFX Olympic Games Silver Medal
August 2016 - Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
They were coached by Nathan Handley, also a Murrays Bay World Champion in his own right, in 1997


Alex Maloney & Molly Meech
49erFX World Champions
September 2013 - Marseille, France


Declan Burn
Splash World Champion
August 2009 - Pwhelli, Wales
Pictured here at 2010 Worlds at Takapuna,  all NZL podium with L-R Ben Lutz (3rd), Chris Steele (1st), Declan Burn (2nd) 

Alex Maloney and Bianca Barbarich-Bacher 
420 Womens World Champions
August 2009 - Garda, Italy



Sam Meech
Laser Radial ISAF Youth World Champion
2009 - Buzios, Brazil






Andy Maloney
Laser Radial Male Youth World Champion
2008  - Takapuna 




Alex Maloney
Female Optimist World Champion
2007 - Sardinia, Italy



Michael Bullot
Laser Radial World Champion
July 13-20 2001 - Villenova, Spain

Michael Bullot
Laser Radial Youth World Champion
July 22-28 2001 - Villenova, Spain





Conrad Gair
Inaugral Splash World Champion
July 2000 - Stavoren, Netherlands 




Alistair Gair
Laser Radial Youth World Champion
1998 - Medemblik, Netherlands

Matthew Davies & Kevin Borrows 
420 ISAF Youth World Champions
December 1998 - Cape Town, South Africa



Matthew Davies & Nathan Handley
Laser II World Champions
August 1997 - Cork, Ireland
(Photographed at the MBSC World Champions meeting at Murrays Bay 2000)





Nik Burfoot
Laser World Champion
1994 - Wakayama, Japan

Dan Slater
Laser IYRU Youth World Champion
1994 - Marathon, Greece






Craig Monk
Finn Olympic Games Bronze Medal  (2nd right)
August 1992 - Barcelona, Spain





Dean Barker
Laser Radial IYRU Youth World Champion
1990 - Muiden, Netherlands


John Cutler
Finn Olympic Games Bronze Medal (Back right)
September 1988 - Seoul, Korea

1983  1985  1990  1994

Leith Armit
OK Dinghy World Champion
1983 - Torquay, England    1,7,4,1,8,(23)
1985 - Medemblik , Holland    2,1,2,1,1,1,(6)
1990 - Melbourne, Australia
1994 - Napier, New Zealand      (Photos above)
1985 - Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy, New Zealand Sailor of the Year

1981 1983 1984

Hamish Willcox with David Barnes
470 Open World Champions 
September 1981 - Quiberon, France   5,5,44,4,5,1
June 1983 - Weymouth, England  12,1,1,10,3,8
January 1984 -  Milford, NZ  22,10,1,4,4,7
July 1982, they finished 3rd in Cascais, Portugal   35,11,13,24,1,1
Pictured here in Weymouth 1983
1983 - Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy, New Zealand Sailors of the Year



Hamish Willcox (MBSC) with Chris Dickson (Birkenhead YC)
470 IYRU Youth World Champions
1979 - Italy
Pictured here winning the selection trials in Auckland



Clive Roberts
OK Dinghy World Champion
1973 - Falmouth, UK




Geoffery Smale
Bernard Fergusson Trophy, New Zealand Sailor of the Year
1968 - Auckland

Geoff Smale was awarded the Bernard Fergusson Trophy as New Zealand Sailor of the Year for his win with Ralph Roberts in the 1968 Mexico Olympic Trials, held at the Resort on Pakatoa Island, and for his development of the Rothmans Father and Son class. 
Geoff was Patron to MBSC 2005 - 2011



Sir Bernard Fergusson and the NZ Sailor of the Year Trophy. It was first presented in 1963 to Harry Highet, designer of the P Class.

 Other Murays Bay winners:
1983 Hamish Willcox with David Barnes
1985 Leith Armit
1991 Harold Bennett




The Original Club Honours Board
OKI Winners and International Champions






Other Notable Achievements


Michael Bullot
2nd, Laser Open World Championships
2009 - Halifax, Canada

Michael Bullot - Kieler Woche Regatta in Germany

Michael Bullot along with Matt Coutts were competing in the Laser Class amongst a fleet of 153 of the worlds best Laser Sailors.  Michael achieved a fantastic 2nd place result (Silver Medal) in the competition and Matt Coutts achieved a 71st place
Dan Slater finished in 4th Place amongst a fleet of 63 boats in the Finn Class.
Regatta Results, Media Coverage


ISAF Youth Worlds
Six of our club members have been selected to represent New Zealand at the 2009 ISAF Volvo Youth Sailing World Championships in Buzios, Brasil.
The team of ten sailors will be competing in this pinnacle event in July and are looking forward to a great competition!   Best wishes to these sailors.

An outstanding performance for the New Zealand Laser sailors in Palma this past month! Michael Bullot finished on the podium with a silver medal.
Andy Maloney finished in 23rd, Sam Meech 74th and Matt Coutts in 100th.    This is an ISAF Grade One event with sailors from over 40 countries competing in a fleet of 134 boats.
They are now training in Hyere’s, France preparing for the Samaine Olympique Francaise Regatta. This is also a grade one event and part of the ISAF Sailing World Cup series. 
Media Coverage:  NZ Yachting,   Sail-World.com 


The MBSC pair narrowly missed the medals at the Youth Worlds in Buzios and so will be particularly delighted to leave Italy with the top prize.Results
Congratulations to you both - you've been a tremendous inspiration to other members of the Club.  The interest in 420 sailing has increased dramatically at MBSC and with your continued participation the Club should only get stronger in this Class.  Travel safely home both of you and we look forward to catching up with you during the season and seeing your medals.